Interview with Music Producer Cam Bodia

cam
LegendBlog: Tell us a little about yourself. What’s your name, What city are you from?
C-Bodia: They call me C-Bodia and im originally from Pittsburgh, PA but The 919 (Chapel Hill/Durham/Raleigh, NC) is where Ive been for the last 15 years. Life in North Carolina is like life anywhere else you have your projects and your suburbs and people trying to eat on a daily basis by any means. The music scene out here is one of the most diverse ive ever seen. You have a little bit of everything with the Hip-Hop out here. You have your gritty rappers like Petey (Petey Pablo) and you have your straight spittin good music type dudes in Little Brother. We also got alot of up and coming artists out here with J. Cole signing to the ROC. But as for what’s popular out here it’s just like the rest of the country right now all you have to do is hit the radio dial and the answer is there.

LegendBlog: How did you first get into making music?

C-Bodia: I was around 13 or 14 when I first started but I was running in the streets doing shit at the time so i didn’t really sit down and see it as a viable option to make bread till i was like 16 and then it was gameover.

LegendBlog: Are you currently signed to a label? If so tell us a lil bit about your situation.

C-Bodia: My current situation is im signed to Interscope with a production deal as a producer but I also have my own production company/record label that im in the process of launching.

LegendBlog: What are some qualities that you feel separates you from other producers?

C-Bodia: My Work ethic and my musical ear first and foremost. To make it anywhere in this biz you have to be willing to grind and spend sleeplesss nights and even sleep in the studio. It got to a point for me at one time where I would book weekend sessions and straight never leave the recording room for three days. I mean sleeping in that bitch and ordering chinese takeout. But aside from that I have a good ear for what is hot and what needs to be where and to me a record can’t go out unless it is perfect. Some people hate the perfectionist mentality to me but I feel that you gotta put out 5 Mic music each time, anything else is unacceptable.

LegendBlog: Who are some artists you have done work with in the past?

C-Bodia: Ive done records with Freeway, Blu, Charles Hamilton, Nina Sky, Murs, Lil Scrappy, & that’s just a few.

LegendBlog: What upcoming projects are you working on?

C-Bodia: Right now im working on my solo debut as well as a compilation album. Besides that I just talked to Chris Lighty so ima be working with Lil Scrappy on his up-coming album on DTP/Def Jam. I also just rapped up my artist Rex Rugga’s debut mixtape “A Time To Kill Volume 1” Hosted by Cutmaster C, that’s a banger so be on the lookout for that in the next month along with his solo album coming soon. But there are some more key projectsI would love to tell you about but at Interscope where like the mob everything has to be a secret until the right time.

LegendBlog: Are there any artists out there you would like to work with but haven’t got the chance?

C-Bodia: Off gates i would love to work with Hov. Jay is the pinacle of what Hip-Hop is so that would be an honor but I would love to get in the lab with Wayne, Luda, Nas, Beans, Cee-Lo, Killer Mike and a few more. I really just want to work with the people that love the music and that are real spitters that’s when it’s the most fun.

LegendBlog: Who are a few of your favorite artists out right now?

C-Bodia: Besides the obvious ones, Im really feelin Joell Ortiz, Crooked I, Skyzoo, The Cool Kids, Kid Cudi, Nino Bless, Nipsey Hustle. Just dudes like that that are real talented with their song concepts and they are straight spitters. They take it back to the old school but they bring that new school creativity to the forefront.

LegendBlog: How much do you charge for your work?

C-Bodia: It depends on the artists and their situations. In the end im in it to make money and get rich like everyone else but if I fuck wit you then I fuck with you and we can get it poppin. I try to not let money affect who I work with.

LegendBlog: What are some things about the music business that most people probably wouldn’t know?

C-Bodia: That it’s bullshit LOL. This business is full of people who you can’t trust and people that will say one thing to your face and another thing in a meeting. I compare it to the jungle and it’s every gorilla for himself even if you havea good situation you can’t always trust the labels and the A&R’s. The people coming into this industry just gotta no what there getting into from jump street.

LegendBlog: What advice would you give to people trying to get into this line of work?

C-Bodia: Be up front and always double check your business dealings. Never let someone else tell you what you need to come out with becuase the fans understand when you trying to bullshit them.

LegendBlog: Where can the people go to find out more about you and the work that you do?

C-Bodia: Myspace.com/cbodiamusic and im bout to lauch a youtube channel soon so be on the look for that.
cam1

4 thoughts on “Interview with Music Producer Cam Bodia

  1. Dope article. Can’t wait to hear more of CBodia’s work.

  2. this interview was great! I think it will be very enlightening to people who want to work in the music industry. I look forward to all C-Bodia up and coming projects because the past ones have been crazy. I believe that as long as he keeps a positive and honest outlook only success will come from his efforts he is well on his way.

  3. Great Interview…hope BLACKSTEELZ jump into that lists of artists 2 work with soon enuff 😉

Leave a Reply

